Melville Forest SS 4415

East of Coleraine



Melville Forest Estate, named after the bushranger, was sub-divided for the settlement of ex-British Indian Army officers following the first World War. Almost all abandoned their blocks when the price of wool collapsed but their places were filled by Australian returned men, who, aided by their experience, struggled through the depression years. In 1928, three settlers - S. WALDRON, B. GODLEY and J. TULLEY - called the first meeting to discuss establishment of a school. The building, provided by the parents, was a 12ftx12ft unlined weatherboard hut located across the Gap Rd on TULLEY's property. Only 9 pupils were enrolled and HT N. CUNNINGHAM taught part-time at 3226 Gritjurk. Miss E. CLARKE was appointed the first full-time HT in 1931. A year later the school was moved to the present site where HT Miss. D. CARTER taught 12 pupils. Miss CARTER represented Australia in the high jump event at the Olympic games. The school closed in 1940 and re-opened in 1950. In 1952 the residence was built largely by community effort and the old Gringegalgona School was moved in and converted into a shelter shed. Because of the persistent and enthusiastic support of the parents, the school is extremely well equiped.

Source: "Vision & Realisation", Vol 2, Education Department of Victoria.